jawug info
NodeDBCore Team
Donate
How-To's
Forum
IRC by browser (NEW!)
JAWUG|
|
Why Airhive should die a horrible death.Examine, for yourself, the following links. Google search on some very specific search terms Specifically note, the second search result points to airhive.net, yet the original content appears to come from seattlewireless.net Now, examine Airhole's WIKI changes at http://www.airhive.net/phpwiki/index.php/RecentChanges?days=90 The fellows from airhive, have been copying and pasting content from seattlewireless.net on almost every imaginable Wifi topic they could lay their little grubby fscking paws on. All of these "contributions" came from 196.38.160.146, or mail.softstart.co.za which is the incubation company that sponsors airhive. Thus, it's quite clear to deduce that THEY themselves pirated this content and pasted it into their wiki. The nett result is that it now appears that Airhive has a "wealth" of wifi knowledge in their Wiki, and that somehow they are authoritive about wifi in South Africa. 1. Clever marketing? 2. Wiki Spam? 3. Or just plain fscked up? Yeah, I'd go for the just plain fscked up option too. Blatant content piracy. If you've seen any of the airhive "videos" you will probably go with option number 4, which is "bunch of stupid students fucking around with something they have no clue about, but trying to attract venture capital through said antics". I've ranted about this before, on the jawug website at http://www.jawug.za.net/AirHive, and http://www.jawug.za.net/TheRoDent_20050317 Go read the evidence, and decide for yourself whether next time you see someone at Futurex at the softstart.co.za stand wielding a wireless device, if you should egg them for being fsckheads or not. Well done Airhive. You have now officially established a link-farm. Good luck in making a business out of it. EditThisPage BackLinks PageInfo Pages like this verdiff PageCalendar Attachments last changed on Wed Jun 1 02:09:12 2005 Subpages:
TheRoDent: June 01, 2005 |